overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Population is increasing day by day around the world. A lot of people are thinking that this is a big problem for present and future world, and it has to be prevented. I’m also agree with this idea because overpopulation is a danger for our world.

Overpopulation can be examined by a lot of topic. The main topic is environment, I think. Overpopulation occurs a lot of environmental problem today and these problems are threating our world. Air pollution, water pollution, environmental pollution are can be examples of these occurs. Increasing population causes increase of usage of motor vehicle. For this reason, while air pollution occurs, air quality is decreasing. However, the ozone layer is being depleted and it causes high temperature. Finally, Due to global warming, the world is starting to enter an irreversible path. On the other hand, due to overpopulation, water pollution is increasing also in our sea and oceans. Our water resources are not enough even today but water pollution issue will decrease the level of water resources to critical level. In about 50 years, we can see water wars because of this problem.

As a second topic, if we put environmental risk topic aside, we can consider the resource share issue. Our world’s resources are very limited. As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, especially our water resources are not enough for us. Even if we are cautious today not to pollute the water resources, water resources won’t be enough to population size. Also, Food shortages are starting to occur even today. Countries with overpopulation, such as China and India, are trying to figure out a solution for food shortages. If governments don’t take any decision, our water and food shortages will be increasing in the future.

In summary, overpopulation causes a lot of problem such as environmental issues and resource share problem. If we don’t take any precautions against overpopulation, These problems will be much more critical for us and we will have to take more hard precautions against that. We can still prevent these problem. Also we can develop some solution ways to share and consume resources more efficient, thanks to science and technology.