Parents should encourage teenagers to get a part-time job in their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that parents should support their teenage children having employment while still in school during their leisure time. From my perspective, I completely agree with this opinion above because working part-time has multiple benefits.

Granted, advocates of children engaging in part-time employment in their time often cite that it helps children to improve personal skills. This is because children are exposed early to a professional working environment, thereby enhancing their soft skills such as communicating with managers, colleagues, and working in a team. As a result, they become more professional and proficient in international skills. Meanwhile, some adolescents are not working part-time, and they spend almost all their time playing games or social media that exert detrimental impacts on their cognitive development.

Furthermore, I would emphasize that teenage children engaging in part-time employment in their spare time can help them learn financial management. Indeed, adolescents have an opportunity for learning money management early, for example, saving for college or making early investments. That building good habits facilitates the enhancement of children’s responsibility and forward-thinking. Contrastly, teens not working part-time tend to waste money on unnecessary purchases when they become adults, and this situation is a breeding ground for unstable life in their future life.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that adolescents should be motivated by their parents to engage in part-time employment. It helps children learn more important skills such as interpersonal skills, and financial management.