Parents want to achieve balance between family and career but only a few manage to achieve it. What do you think is the reason? Discuss possible solutions and provide examples.

Nowadays, parents face huge difficulties in their personal lives; they struggle to keep a balance between family and career. I believe that the main cause is inefficient time management. For that reason, an effective solution to this problem is the development of time management skills.

Although it is obvious that both family and career are important, parents have to choose one in which they will invest more time. Usually, such a decision is up to a person and is made based on his or her priorities. It is because whenever parents spend more time at work, problems with children occur immediately, and vice versa. For example, my uncle totally forgot about my birthday solely for the reason of being overwhelmed at work, or my aunt, who was so focused on her daughter, that she even forgot to meet the deadline for her project and almost got fired.

Obviously, to cure these problems regarding a failure of time management skills, parents need to develop them. The first thing that comes to my mind is planning in advance. Parents should find an optimal time range on their schedule after work and dedicate it to the kids. Based on their priorities, they have to dedicate time and show attention, be it career or family. For example, mothers can spend a higher proportion of their hours with kids, whereas fathers are at work.

To sum up, issues with balancing between family and career cannot be fully resolved; however, there are strong solutions and decisions to make them less difficult. Right time management plays a crucial role in both family and career. If a parent’s day is not planned carefully and properly, no balance will be struck.