People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

Nowadays, most people are opting for beverages that contain excessive amounts of sugar. This habit can be attributed to nonstop marketing of those drinks and consumers’ addiction to them. However, the problem can be tackled by raising people’s awareness and increasing tax on unhealthy products like those.

There are various reasons why sugary drinks are being consumed more than in the past, one of which is eye-catching marketing of them. Today, it is commonplace to see the advertisements of fizzy drinks, whose constant consumption can put consumers health at risk, in many public places. Those who unintentionally face them in their life may want to try them as a result of which addiction towards them may arise. People who are addicted to such drinks may find it difficult to change their drinking habits towards healthier as they are readily available in nearly all public places. For example, a prominent company, Coca cola, advertises its flagship product – Coca Cola classic – on TV, websites and crowded places. Besides, its products, especially the mentioned drink, is sold virtually everywhere ranging from small and big shops to even airports.

The problem, however, can be solved using a variety of efficient methods such as by making people aware of the health threats of such drinks. This can be done in a small scale, within families, by parents, through detailed explanations of how those beverages can negatively impact both one’s health and life overall. Another solution is for governments to subsidize healthier drinks and increase tax on the ones that contain sugar at a health-threatening level. The more expensive those unhealthy drinks are, the less people purchase them, and go for far cheaper though healthier beverages like natural juice or water.

In conclusion, people’s increased preference of sugar-based drinks may have been stemmed from continuous advertising and addiction to them. Nevertheless, I think this problem can be effectively tackled by revealing their dangers openly and making them relatively costly.