People are responsible for their happiness. Others feel happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Happiness is regarded as one of the most important things in our lives. Since it is so crucial, many assume that people can be happy if they want to be, although others believe there are other factors that are more important to being happy than desiring it. In my opinion, quality of life is the most important consideration in achieving happiness; however, this essay explores both sides of the discussion.

On the one hand, people have the responsibility to achieve their happiness. The variety of happiness depends on individuals’ passions, and nobody can fully understand others’ feelings. If someone really wants to be happy, they can find it anywhere or in any aspect of their lives. For instance, some people find pleasure in the health of themselves and their families; others find it in pushing their limits. However, only desiring it can be insufficient in some cases when standards of living play a crucial role in achieving it.

On the other hand, before being happy, everyone should first meet their basic needs, such as accommodation and food. Without a house to live in and food to eat, it can be irrational to think about achieving happiness. In my experience, I have never encountered people who achieve happiness without providing for their basic needs. Additionally, having a job that allows people to spend more time with their families and friends to build strong relationships is important. This is because these bonds are usually regarded as the main contributor to the happiness.

In conclusion, although desiring happiness is crucial to achieving it, it seems to me that people should initially enhance their living conditions.