People are responsible for their happiness. Others feel happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

The pursuit of happiness is a universal endeavor, even though opinions about it are not solid: some people believe that individuals are primarily responsible for their emotional well-being, while others contend that it is shaped by various external circumstances. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and provide an opinion on the matter.

On one hand, proponents of the idea that each person is responsible for their happiness argue that personal choices and attitudes play a fundamental role in determining one’s emotional state. Hobbies, for instance, are one of the pivotal factors that contribute to people’s happiness by offering a sense of joy. Furthermore, small personal goals that individuals set for themselves foster their motivation and satisfaction as they achieve them. In this sense, happiness is accepted as a product of one’s mindset and requires self-awareness in this personal journey.

On the other hand, those who claim that happiness is influenced by external factors say it is something that is beyond one’s control. This perspective emphasizes the role of social, economic, and environmental circumstances in which people are. A case in point is the emotional well-being of a person living in a place with a lot of waste around. This pollution may have a huge impact on the mood of dwellers, irrespective of their hobbies and choices. Moreover, relationships and social connections significantly affect the emotional state; a lack of supportive relationships can lead to feelings of isolation and unhappiness. Therefore, it can be argued that while individuals have the main power over their happiness, advocates of the opposite opinion say external factors play a pivotal role in their ability to echieve it.

In my opinion, whereas individuals are responsible for their cheerfulness by following certain lifestyles, the roles of other circumstances cannot be ignored. It is essential to acknowledge the significant impacts that external factors have and to try to figure them out. Personal responsibility is undoubtedly vital; however, socioeconomic background, health, and relationship status are much more important than any other factor.

In conclusion, even though humans hold the main responsibility for their sense of happiness, external circumstances are essential in determining emotional well-being as well. Ultimately, a combination of self-awareness and an understanding of the environment in which people live can help people to find happiness.