People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives.Do you think the positive effects of this overweight the negative effects?

Nowadays advertising has become an indispensable part of the modern business and influenced our lives in different ways. Although numerous benefits and drawbacks are deemed for this industry, I hold the view that its merits are more significant. In this essay I intend to discuss both positive and negative aspects of this fabulous industry.

On the positive side, it is widely acknowledged that advertising is a key part of modern business. Introducing products and services to customers plays a key role in the success of more companies irrespective of the field of activity. Thanks to this industry, people not only can be informed about the choices they have but also can be entertained by watching advertisements because some people enjoy adverts due to their amusing nature.

Furthermore, it provides a wide range of job opportunities for unemployed individuals. In recent decades, with advent of advertising different types of adverts have been developed ranging from multimedia advertisements which can be seen on TVs, cell phones and websites to simple banners which are installed on billboards. A lot of workforce are needed for designing and installing these adverts. That is to say, advertising is a creative industry which would employ many people and as a result leads to less unemployment.

On the downside, some cons are considered for this industry. Advertising may strive to manipulate people by persuading them to follow the latest trends or even giving them this belief that buying a product will make them happier. As a result, this can lead to consumerism. Besides that, children can easily be influenced by advertisements and some advertisers often consciously aim their marketing at children which can result in putting pressure on parents to by things for their children. However, these negative aspects can be mitigated by regulating advertising and controlling or even banning advertisements aimed at children. Also, Adverts contains false information or detrimental products should be censored by governments.

By the way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the advantages of advertising far outweigh its drawbacks because not only is it necessary for today’s businesses to inform their targeted audiences about their products but also there would be enormous potential for employing job seekers.