People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

People’s eating habits have changed a lot in this contemporary era, replacing homemade cook. Owing to the fact that instant food items are available and easy to be served, but cause several health problems.

Recently, people are inclined to consume more ready-made foods, as they can be picked up and consumed easily as compared to the past. A few years ago, when people preferred cooking fresh meal, they had to invest in amount of time and ingredients just for serving a meal. However, due to people workload and the advanced of technology, the eating lifestyle has rapidly changed. Presently, most of people are developing a strong interest for snacks and simple foods, which require less or not time for preparation. This implies, food must be available at any time, whenever you feel hungry. In consequence, current eating habit has shifted people’s routines to consume more instant food than processed food. For instance, children tend to snack on the food instead of waiting for their parents cook and serve them. Another example is the adults have to work earlier and most of them have to serve breakfast for themselves or family. Therefore, they would choose simple readymade foods to cut into their time.

Although processed meals have brought many benefits for human, this eating habit trend may cause detrimental health issue. Processed food contains low nutrients and high chemical contains of preservatives, which are helpful in storing the food for such a long time. Consuming preservatives for a long period can be harmful to the digestive system, causing stomach cancer, gastritis, liver issue, etc. For instance, processed meat, stored in the cans, are preserved by adding salt and acid when consumed over a period of time could affect stomach and put a higher risk of cancer.

In short, people consume instant food for its simple and availability, yet it leads to critical health problem affecting a large population in total.