People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Nowadays, people consume more manufactured food compared to the past. Despite the fact that these products taste great, they might also cause some health issues for humans.

Often manufactured products have a very pleasant taste that makes people to eat them much. The reason for this is that various ingredients are being added ito food. Further, these ingredients make people addicted to processed food, thus people can’t stop eating them. Moreover, once people enjoyed them they will continue buying them in order to fulfill their needs for pleasure again. For instance, recent research shows that the number of people buying packaged food has increased by around 40% since 1990, and the main reason for it was food’s delicious taste.

The main effects that processed food can cause are health problems. This usually happens when people tend to eat such food in great quantities. Often these meals consist of big amounts of sugar, oil, calories, thus consuming them in big quantities may lead to various health issues such as obesity, diabete, heart disease and etc. For example, recently there has been a study that tried to identify the main factors causing health problems in people, and as a result, among the others factors, processed food was on the first place with a suprising figure of 70%.

In conclusion, humans are more processed food dependent than in previous generations due to their specific delicious taste, and these meals can also lead to different health diseases, for instance, if eaten in big amounts.