People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Nowadays, people tend to eat more processed food than they did in the past. There are several reasons for this, such as the rapid development in the food industry and the hustle culture, which makes people not have enough time to cook their own food. This situation can cause health problems.

The rapid development in the food industry that contributes to this problem is the delivery system. These days, you can easily order your food from anywhere at any time. This delivery system allows you to enjoy your meals without putting yourself to the trouble of preparing your own food. In Indonesia, according to Statista, the number of users of online food delivery markets is significantly increasing from time to time.

Another reason behind the growing number of people more likely to eat fast food is the hustle culture. Right now, many people are prone to a modern work environment that encourages them to work more hours and rest less. It makes them less likely to enjoy their free time outside work, including time to eat. Due to that situation, a lot of people prefer to buy and eat processed food to cut their eating time and make it simple.

This phenomenon can cause health problems like diabetes and obesity. When we order convenience food instead of preparing our own food, we actually do not know what is inside our food, the ingredients they use, and how they process our food. For the sake of efficiency, we usually order fast food like burgers, fried fries, and soda, which actually has been the subject of a lot of research that shows these kinds of food are the cause of the increasing number of diabetes and obesity among young people.

In conclusion, people eat more processed food than before because of the massive development of the food industry and technology, which can lead to an online delivery system and a work environment that does not allow people to enjoy their free time, including their eating time, which can lead to several health problems.