People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In contemporary living, emerged a global phenomena, which indicates that many a people are bent towards having less time for family gatherings. In light of this, there are possible reasons, along with some causal effects that neglecting family time can offer.

As regards to the agents of this common trend, generational gap and enormous workload are to blame. A majority of modern family units consist of two particular generations: while most parents are millennials, their offsprings are mainly digital natives. Remarkably, humans of these two phases appear to hold discrepancies in terms of their perspective towards the world, and therefore, having shared little commonplace or interest, they barely can derive pleasure from togetherness, leading to a decline in quality time. Adjacent to the age-gap problems, this trend also stems from the increased workload that individuals bear; compared to that of the last decades, the amount of work that new-age residents have to handle has been alleged drastically. People, exhausted and drained after a productive working day, seem to unwillingly attend to family activities. Indeed, it is inevitable that more people are vulnerable to this phenomena.

Natural as it is in this ever-evolving world, the trend can be mischievous to harmonious family life. Disputes and arguments arise when each member is unable to compromise and navigate through quarrels as the result of lacking in-depth understanding and empathy towards others, especially when they have insufficient indulgence in family time. In many situations, discordant families, thereby neglect their responsibility to nurture the children, and without co-parenting, the young are prone to immoral elements, being geared towards displaying vicious manners, and even involving in juvenile delinquencies. Therefore, the effects of this trend can be detrimental.

In conclusion, regarding the reduction in families’ quality time, there are numerous causes and malevolent influence of this notorious phenomena.