People nowadays are spending more time at the workplace and it is argued this is a problem for family life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been recently argued that henceforth people tend to stay later at the work which negatively effects on family bonds. I disagree with this point of view due to the fact that it is superficial to suppose that spending more time at the workplace is the real reason for disrupting family, instead the unwillingness to preserve it and the indifference to relatives’ life in general.

To explain my point of view further, there are several paramount factors which generate the problems in families. From psychological perspective, late-night work may be only the mask which disguises the relations issues. Seldom do employees stay for longer for the sake of working, rather than because of the unwillingness to return to home. In addition, a certain number of people consider the working place to be a shelter or a place to get some privacy from children, spouses and house chores. For example, a man has done an eight-hours working day and squeezed out like a lemon has come back to his a wife and children who demand attention and actions which seem to be lacking. In this case it is too inviting to stay later at work and not return in time.

Another example that may support my perspective is the culture of achievement in general. In fact, the generation of millennials put job-related things in the forefront. It may be explained either by their indifference to relatives’ life or by the fear to build up new bonds and as a result a family. In any case, family problems occur not due to the relation with a work but on the grounds of a personal choice not in family favor.

In conclusion, not only nowadays, but in any times people who aspired to destroy their family, managed with it brilliantly, whereas others remain loyal to their spouses and children putting work on the background. I believe that no matter how much a person works, if he or she appreciates family ties, they will always be prioritized.