People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Modern people tend to sleep shorter hours in comparison with people of older generations. This essay maintains that sleep deprivation is the direct result of work obligations and voluntary choices, and has negative consequences on people’s health, work performance, and mood, which is detrimental not only for themselves but also for those around them.

The first reason people do not get enough sleep is because of work conditions. Some of them have to work extended hours and multiple jobs in order to provide for their families. Shift workers who have to work through the night may also find it hard to get the amount of sleep that they really need. Sleep deprivation may also be driven by voluntary choices that reduce the available sleep time. For example, a person who decides to stay up late to binge-watch a TV series may experience acute sleep deprivation. An inconsistent sleep schedule may facilitate these decisions and make them feel less intentional in the moment.

The effects of sleep deprivation can be serious and affect multiple aspects of a person’s well-being. Sleep plays a fundamental role in the functioning of nearly all systems of the body, so a persistent lack of sleep poses significant risks to physical and mental health. Studies have found strong associations between sleep deficiency and cardiovascular problems. As for other consequences, people who are sleep-deprived are more likely to struggle in school and work settings or to experience mood changes that may affect personal relationships.

In conclusion, the lack of sleep that is experienced by modern people can be explained by the combination of work conditions and personal choices. It should not be underestimated, as it damages not only the cardiovascular system but also results in mood shifts affecting personal relationships.