People only work hard for money and there are no other reasons for doing that. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People work hard only for money, as it helps them fulfil their daily needs. I agree that there are no other reasons to do so, since it allows them to save for the long term.

Having daily needs is a reason for hard work, which leads to earning enough income. Almost all standards of living are increasing, such as living costs, education, and leisure, which forces people to work diligently to fulfill these with their income. These demanding tasks make them work full-time because they might increase their income. For example, doctors have to fit their tight hospital schedules. Even though they should come at midnight when an urgent condition arises, they should check or perform surgery to earn extra salary to meet their desires. Although others claim that contributing to society is the reason to work hard, they still need money to sustain themselves and cover the operational costs of their projects.

Saving money for the future as an investment provides financial security in the long term, enabling the ability to pay for healthcare. This is because when people work hard, they can accumulate savings, especially to support themselves in old age. Without relying on others, they might pay for their own medical treatment when health problems occur later in life. In 2016, the elderly in Jember suffered from breast cancer and required medical imaging at Siloam Hospital Jember. Such treatment often requires significant financial expenses, underscoring the importance of having savings for healthcare expenses. Admittedly, some people might work hard because they are passionate about their careers, like singers, writers, and athletes. However, financial motivation still plays the main role in people’s lives.

In conclusion, people work hard only for money, motivated by the need to fulfil daily necessities, and I believe there are no other reasons, as it is for long-term saving. Where possible, financial motivation should be balanced with healthy lifestyles, since it has a significant long-term effect.