People only work hard for money and there are no other reasons for doing that. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that people work hard for no other reasons other than money. Although money is the primary reason behind hard work, I believe other factors including passion and a desire to contribute to society also motivate hard work.

Admittedly, many individuals cite money as the predominant factor behind their hard work. Every person needs money to meet their basic necessities such as buying food, paying rent and utility bills. Due to the intense competition in current job markets, many work harder than ever before in order to make ends meet and support their family. Furthermore, many individuals derive great pleasure from material wealth. Having a decent income can translate into a prosperous life with the luxurious homes and high-end cars that many people dream about. This partly explains why many decide to work overtime or have two jobs at the same time to maximize their income.

Besides money, I believe many individuals work hard because of a natural enthusiasm as well as a desire to help others. Many artists, for example, are willing to work in a gallery all day long to sketch, paint and perfect their paintings. Their aim is more about creating impressive works of self-expression rather than maximizing how much they will earn from selling their artworks. Another reason that encourages hardwork is a desire to contribute to society. Firefighters are a case in point. The fact that many firefighters are willing to risk their life to rescue others clearly shows that money is not their main motivation, and that an altruistic wish to help others far exceeds other causes.

In conclusion, money is of course a driving force behind hard work; however, passion and desire to help others are also crucial reasons why many individuals work hard. I believe people are likely to achieve a greater sense of satisfaction when they consider other factors besides simply salary.