People should only buy food sourced locally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Food is a vital and excessive important part of mankind’ life; it is impossible to sustain without the intake of meals. Some people argue that it would be more fruitful if the populace used only indigenously growing food. Personally, I partially disagree with the aforementioned statement for some reasons which are explained in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the locally grown commodities would be healthier and more hygienic as compared to the market. The yield which is produced by local farmers is more likely to be pure and pesticides free; there is no mixture of preservatives in order to keep it fresh and edible. For instance, some people only opted for organic food on account of its quality and nutritional value; although, it is more expensive than the other meals available in the market. Secondly, the financial output would be elevated, if inhabitants would cultivate the farming for regular necessities as they can sell their excessive commodities in the market yard.

On the other side, in the modern and innovative era, folks depend on other nations to satisfy their demands. Therefore, it is arduous to produce all crops in one place. For instance, apples could be grown in the cool areas only where the temperature is very low, if we insist the South-African people cultivate apple farming, then it would be a wastage of resources as the country is considered extremely hot. In contrast, mangoes’ demand a hot environment to grow, opposite to apples. Therefore, human beings have to depend on other areas for some kinds of food as the soil of some areas does not support it. Each crop needs distinctive soil nutrients by nature to bloom and thrive.

To conclude then, it is a great idea, if the community use only indigenously produced food in perspective of income and nutritional value; however, all crops are unique and require a suitable environment to bloom. Therefore, it would be a wastage of efforts and resources if we try to produce all sorts of edible plants under the same weather conditions.