People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on them?

Nowadays people tend to rest less during the night time. The main reason behind that situation is that people have to deal with more daily challenges which leads to problems with productivity and health.

To begin with, the problem of people spending less time sleeping in recent times is caused by the fact that they have to do more tasks than they used to in the past. The more society develops, the more people face difficulties. Indeed, in the past people had to do only a few things in a day such as hunting animals, and cooking meals, and it didn’t affect their resting time because they spend energy only on surviving. However, in modern times, it is essential to do many things in a day and remain productive such as earning money and studying. For example, children go to school every day, do their homework and then prepare for the next day, while adults work, solve problems like paying for an apartment and buying food. So that causes a bad sleeping habits which can lead to significant problems in life.

Bad sleeping habits have several drawbacks such as a reduction in productivity and health issues. Firstly, people who have a lack of sleep tend to be tired, their ability to cope with tasks reduces day by day, and so, their productivity in doing things significantly decreases over the time. Poor productivity is the reflection of their inability to work and study which is also connected with health issues. Usually, people with poor sleeping mode have a weak immune system, and that may cause problems with health. What I mean is that whenever they meet a sick person, their immune system won’t be able to save them. As a result, their health will be affected in higher rate. To be more precise, the poor productivity is connected with health. For example, people who are ill might be unable to do things that others can do, in other words, they are limited. Consequences of bad sleeping habits can be even worse, but these are the common ones.

To conclude, I believe that problems with health and productivity are mainly determined by a sufficiency of resting at night time.