People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on them?

In earlier days people used to have a healthier sleep cycle than people have nowadays. The main reason behind the decrease in sleep is the increase in work hours which usually leads to serious medical conditions like fatigue and stress.

People are getting fewer hours of sleep than they used to get before because to meet the pace of the growing market they are expected to work more as compared to earlier times. Due to inflation, the prices of the daily needed commodities such as food and fuel have reached a higher level. To meet all the basic needs one has to work longer hours which generally is compromised with the daily need of 7 to 8 hours of sleep. All the employees’ shifts are generally from 9am to 6pm or maybe 7pm which leaves them no time to rest. This is pretty evident with the study which shows that people generally work around 4 to 5 hours more than they used to in the early 19th century.

The primary effect of this is chronic fatigue. The body needs a minimum of 8 hours of sleep to carry on the proper diagnosis, which when not provided leads to exhaustion. This in return can affects many things such as performance at work, irritable behavior with work people or family or it can also lead to serious health problems. For example, many doctors states that, improvement in the sleep cycle can reduce tension from one’s mind and also increase the life expectancy. And hence earlier people used to live longer with a better lifestyle.

To sum up, people are more sleep deprived than the earlier generation due to longer work hours. The major effect it has is that many are chronically tired which leads to stressful life.