People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether watching TV, movies and different kinds of programs alone brings more benefits or drawbacks. In my opinion, this situation has both advantages and disadvantages, but the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

One downside of watching everything alone is that it can make people get bored more easily. This is because you do not have anyone to talk to about happy or confusing situations that you have seen at that moment. Additionally, it can make people feel isolated, especially if the content of the film has a strong emotional impact. Moreover, you do not share experiences or perspectives with others and lack the group atmosphere. Watching TV together is also a great way for family members to gather and share their stories after a busy and stressful day of study or work. Due to not having more time to do this, it can lead to familial communication declining. It also makes parents and children feel disconnected mentally or creates distance between each other.

In contrast, I think watching TV, films or any programs alone has more benefits. One advantage is having free choice. When watching alone, you can choose any kind of movies or programs you like without having to discuss it with other people. Moreover, people can watch it anytime they want, and it allows them to concentrate fully on the film’s content instead of chatting or listening to the opinions of others. Besides, you can express emotions comfortably such as smiling broadly, crying or overthinking without being judged by others. However, personal preferences can lead to disagreements when watching with others. This can sometimes strain relationships with friends or family.

In conclusion, it is apparent that enjoying television shows by oneself offers more advantages than disadvantages. While there are some drawbacks, such as potential isolation, the benefits of personal choice, better concentration, and emotional freedom outweigh the negatives.