People today sleep less and less. What are the causes of this? Do you think this is a positive development?

Sleeping less is becoming more widespread to many people these days. This essay will elaborate on the causes of this pressing issue.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons that contribute to the increasing of sleeping less in this century. The first lesson is that people tend to sleep for fewer hours these days because of the long working hours at work. For example, People have immense pressure from their bosses who have been forced them to finish the work as soon as possible. Therefore, they are forced to work day and night, to complete the project they have been assigned. Another cause of people’s lack of sleeping is that the majority of people are spending too much time on social media during late night. For instance, in a survey conducted by The University of Canada, the more people spend their night time on TikTok and Instagram, the less they are able to set limits on the time they spend using the app.

It is clearly believed that sleeping less definitely might not be a positive phenomenal. Therefore, in a recent study by WHO, getting only 4 or 5 hours of sleep directly affects mental health and social relationship. For instance, people who work constantly do not focus on their hobbies or spend time with their loved ones. Apart from that, Insufficient sleep contribute to physical health of an individual. For example, People who have to stand for longer hours at their jobs develop knee and foot issues, on the other hand, individuals doing sitting jobs have spine or neck injuries.

In conclusion, at present people who work long hours at their workplace and spend too much time on social media during their late night have problematic sleeping patterns. This has created an imbalance in their physical and mental health.