Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Plagiarism has been a common thing, even in the past. Wether in entertainment industry, workplace, or even in academic fields. This, however, have become out of hand that many thinks that it is a problem. There are plenty of reasons as to why people do it along with the way to solve it.

Plagiarism itself comes in many forms. The most commonly seen is copying and pasting from the internet without clear acknowledgement and paraphrasing. Although plagiarism itself are not considered as a crime, many schools and colleges have been forbidding this action as they feel that it is necessary to acknowledge others’ work and idea and it is also considered as a breach of academic integrity. Plagiarism sometimes happens when a student decided to gain credit for the work of others. This, however, is not the only reason. Most plagiarism are not the problem of cheating but more about underdeveloped academic skills and other reasons like intellectual insecurity, lack of clear argument, lack of critical thinking and analytical skills, and poor writing skills.

The best way to avoid plagiarism is to learn and employ the principles of good academic practice from the beginning of our study year. Avoiding plagiarism is not about changing most of the words from the text that we copy so that people will not notice. It is about increasing our academic skills to make our work better. It is also necessary to read more books to improve our knowledge and train our writing skills. We can also credit the original authors in our reference list.

In conclusion, eventhough it is not a civil offense, we should still avoid it. It is required that we improve our academic skills to avoid plagiarism. Moreover, we should also credit the writer in our reference list.