Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

It is widely accepted that plagiarism in academia turned into a serious issue all over the world. There are some clear reasons why this is the case, and situation can be changed for the better in a couple of ways.

There are two reasons for this. To start, one of the reasons is that students are getting very lazy nowadays. And with the advent of the internet, and various websites with articles and educational materials, it has worsened. This way it is just easier to students to copy everything off the internet. Another common cause which is related to this situation is that some parents put a lot if pressure on their children. So they want to make a good impression on their parents and teachers by copying everything from some websites.

There are several ways to change the situation for the better. A worthwhile step to deal with plagiarism is to introduce penalties for such plagiarism or cheating. And universities should carefully check their works and be strict. For example, teachers can expel a student for this by showing other students that this can happen to them. Another solution for this is that universities should generally hold exams in some buildings, instead of giving them essays and so on. Thus, taking away the opportunity to write off.

In conclusion, high expectations from parents and teachers can influence students to copy something. However, taking some measures about the university and the exams can improve the situation for the better.