Plastic bag, plastic bottles, plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic to the environment? what can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nondegradable plastic materials such as bags, bottles and packaging are negatively affecting the environment. This problem could lead to ocean pollution and death of aquatic animals. The most effective way in which the government and individuals could tackle this issue is by using less plastic and by recycling these materials.

To begin with, one major effect that this has on our environment is that the oceans are clogged and littered with plastic waste and as a result it has negatively affected fish and other aquatic animals that live in water. These animals find it difficult to survive in their natural habitat due to toxic substances such as leachate that contaminates the water. To exemplify, study showed that numerous marine species are becoming extinct due to toxic chemical that are found in plastic waste.

To solve this problem, it is the obligation of the government to introduce a system where these materials could be recycled and reused for future purposes. This will not just keep the environment clean; it will also boost the economy. Citizens could be encouraged to participate in such programs by giving vouchers, gift cards, and discounts when they return the used plastic materials from their households. For example, research shows that this scheme has been proven successful in countries like South Korea, Switzerland and the United States. Furthermore, alternatives such as stainless bottles, paper bags and packaging could be used in place of plastic materials.

In conclusion, there is significant damage caused to the environment such as littering the rivers and ocean, harming animals that live in water as a result of the harmful substances found in them. However, this can be mitigated through recycling of plastic waste and replacing them with healthier alternatives.