Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Overtime, it has been proven that plastic packaging has depleted the ecosystem tremendously. This essay will discuss how these artificial products have caused all sorts of harmful pollutants and how the authorities in charge plus individuals can alleviate these issues by enforcing strict regulations and adhering to them.

In fact, synthetic packaging has caused more harm than good. Hence, due to the harsh chemicals used in manufacturing these products, the soil is heavily contaminated there by affecting agricultural cultivation. Consequently, this has resulted in land pollution. Additionally, improper disposal of these materials into water bodies have prompted the suffocation of fishes and other useful sea creatures.

However, the government should implement strict measures to curb the inappropriate dumping and discarding of plastic packaging. Fines and punishments must be given to anyone who violates the law. In addition, allocation for more disposal bins at strategic locations should be made available in order to encourage proper discard of waste materials. Moreso, individuals can assist by opting out for reusable bags and bottles instead of the disposable ones. For instance, when a person visits a grocery shop rather than using a plastic bag to carry their goods, they should buy the cloth bag that can be used multiple times.

In conclusion, materials made from polythene are very dangerous to the atmosphere and have degraded the human habitat to a large extent. In the meantime, the responsible authorities can help solve these challenges by ensuring its citizens follow the set rules and regulations that have been put in place.