Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The environmental hazards of plastic containers has been reported in many literatures by scientists. Plastic materials pose significant threats to our environment and a number of steps could be taken by governments and the people to mitigate these risks.

Plastic composes a number of chemical compounds which are usually very toxic. These toxic compounds are released into the atmosphere when a plastic material is burnt. The fumes from these materials diffuse into the oceans, seas, and pounds, thereby contaminating the aquatic habitats. Scientists say plastic bottles and other plastic containers now outnumber the fishes in the ocean. This trend poses a great risk to environmental conservation. Similarly, exhausts from burning plastic packages contaminate the air in the environment. Additionally, since plastics are non-biodegradble, improperly disposed plastics block our waterways, particularly the drainage systems. The consequence of this is flooding.

Without any doubt, plastic materials are a source of environmental concerns. However, governments and the people can take a number of measures to stem the tide. As citizens, we have a duty to educate ourselves about the dangers of poor plastic disposal. During my days at the University, for example, I joined a club that dedicated every Saturday to removing plastic containers from the school’s premises. We also mounted plastic disposal bins at strategic locations to enocurage responsible waste disposal. On the path of governments, a number of measures are possible. Firstly, Government may impose special taxes on plastic production to discourage mass production. This will in turn discourage consumers from buying products in plastic containers due to increased cost. Secondly, government may provide incentives to encourage the production of safer alternatives such as glass bottles. If necessary, governments may announce outright ban on plastic containers. A state in Nigeria has announced plans to phase out plastic containers since they are the major cause of flooding in the region.

To conclude, the importance of curtailing the environmental impacts of plastic packaging is beyond immediate gains. We owe the future generations a cleaner and safer environements, therefore, all hands must be on deck to achieve this.