Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In various nation around the world, plastic packaging has increased significantly and is now widely utilized by many food and drink industries. While there is clearly a benefit to this, I personally believe that the drawbacks are more significant.

Using plastic container is very beneficial for business companies. The reason for this is that the industries can reduce their expenditure because the plastic packaging is not expensive compared to others. For example, plastics are widely spread around the world and 80% of products are packaged with plastics. Therefore, utilizing plastic container enhances the business by reducing costs.

On the other hand, one of the disadvantages is that plastics contaminate the environment. This is because many people bury the plastic waste in soil. It takes more than one decade to decay the plastic in the soil. Therefore, plastic waste damages the soil dramatically. As a result, plants are struggle to grow in polluted soil, which can reduce agricultural productivity.

In addition, plastic waste harms sea creatures in various ways. When plastic enters the ocean, many marine animals mistaken it for food or become trapped in it. For instance, turtles often eat plastic bags because they look like jellyfish, which can block their digestive system and lead to death. As a result, the population of many sea species declines, disrupting the balance of marine ecosystem.

In conclusion, the disadvantages are of greater significance than the advantages. Despite the fact that plastic containers are very useful in packaging for foods and drink companies, they will damage environment and diminish the sea creatures. Given this situation, it is recommended that government should restrict the rate of plastic usage and guide for plastic waste.