Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays , the use of plastic containers in packing food producers have become a prominent trend in several countries. Despite the fact that this trend brings a lot of merits, I believe that its drawbacks significantly outweigh its benefits.

On the one hand, plastic containers have a lot of reasons to be the most used materials for packaging food. One of the major is its convenience, because plastic is lightweight, which makes it easy for consumers and producers to carry and transport. Another reason is its reasonable price. Due to the lightweight nature, the process to produce plastic containers is inexpensive, which allows companies to lower the price, and makes the products appealing to consumers.

On the other hand, even though we cannot deny the benefits of this prominent trend, the negative consequences of it still far outweigh the advantages. First of all, it caused a lot of damage to the environment. Most of the plastic containers are non-biodegrader, which means it can exist for more than a hundred years before breaking down. Therefore, it will be a danger for marine life and also humans because of the tiny micro plastic being mixed in water, destroying immune systems. Moreover, the process of making these packaging is one of the reasons for the increasing greenhouse gas. Throughout the process, the manufacturing will use a huge number of fossil fuels, releasing toxic gas that damages the ozone layer. Consequently, climate change is clearly evident of how the overuse of plastic in packaging affects the environment.

In conclusion, while plastic containers also offer certain advantages, the disadvantages, especially on health and environment, far outweigh its positives. The widespread use of plastic packaging should be limited and considered to be altered, like paper or bamboo materials to ensure human long life well being.