Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays in many nations, the usage of plastic containers has become ubiquitous among the general populace and by many food and beverages companies. This trend has many merits; however, one can’t ignore the drawbacks for the same. The reasons for the same are discussed in the following paragraphs.

Plastic containers are beneficials in many ways. First and foremost, they are convenient to carry, as one can easily handle it while travelling. Along with that, it also avoids the spilling of food and beverages when it’s being transported. Moreover, plastic containers are durable and can sustain in any environment without any damage. It also protects the food from damage and increases the lifespan so that one can store it for long period of time. Additionally, it is quite economical for food and drink companies as, it decreases the cost of packaging. To exemplify, the article in New York Times stated that companies are preferring plastic container over glass as it decreases cost of packages and increase lifespan of food.

On the other hand, there are several demerits for the same. As, it affects the environment more. Plastic containers are non-biodegradable in nature and it can’t be decomposed easily as it takes millions of years to degrade and causes land pollution. Moreover, the food items which are filled in this container may do so chemical reaction as container are made with some chemicals. Due to this it is harmful to human body and may causes acute or chronic ailments. Furthermore, plastic containers can be recycled but the cost of recycling is high. Due to this, companies or authorities can’t spend money on recycling. For instance, in developing or developed countries, it’s been difficult for any nations to recycle it and due to this land pollution increases.

To summarize, plastic containers are commonly used by many peoples and companies. Whereas, there are many benefits such as increasing lifespan of food material, convenient to carry and economical. However, one can’t ignore the disadvantages such as non-biodegradable and it’s harmful to health.