Plastic pollution has become a major environmental issue worldwide. Why is plastic pollution increasing? What solutions can help address this problem?

There are many environmental problems around the world, but the plastic pollution issue is more significant, so solving this problem has been becoming more and more important. This problem has some underlying factors, such as expanding single-use productions. Producing reusable items instead of single-use ones can be one of the solutions to this problem.

On the one hand, there are some causes of the increase in plastic pollution. The main argument is using widespread disposable things like containers, packets, and bottles. To explain, when people buy something in supermarkets or shops, shop assistants give them packets to carry their shopping. Whereas they utilize them only once and throw packets away anywhere, such as on the earth or water. As a result, they become trash and harm the environment. It brings about loss of biodiversity. For instance, humans’ leftovers, which are in wrappers or packets, are tossed on the ground or into the water and can be eaten along with the wrappers or pockets by animals or aquatic creatures. Recent studies show that each year over 100,000 dolphins, fish, whales, turtles, and others drown after becoming entangled in or digesting plastic litter.

On the other hand, the rising tendency can be mitigated in numerous ways. One of them is the production of reusable items, including bags, packets, bottles, and drink cups, and making them affordable for everyone. Consequently, individuals would have the opportunity to purchase them. Another solution to this problem is to increase the fines when people throw trash on the ground or into water instead of the trash bin.

To conclude, the growth of single-use production is one of the reasons for this plastic pollution issue. Nonetheless, by launching manufacturing reusable items or increasing the fine, we can solve this problem.