Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think that they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree? and what can be done to reduce it?

Recently, the usage of plastic bags has been increasing at an alarming rate, and it is deemed to be one of the major contributors to environmental pollution. I believe that they are should be outlawed because both marine life and terrestrial life have borne the brunt of repercussions caused by their hazardous disposable.

To embark on, plastic bags have a deleterious effect on the ecosystem beacause they are non-biodegradable. This means that when the bags are buried in the soil or thrown into the ocean, they will not decompose and plastic will enter the food chain of the wild animals causing fatal deseases and even death when ingested. For example, a hungry turtle may mistake a transparent plastic bag for a jellyfish and eat it, leading it to choke as it cannot be digested, and thus, painfully die. Hence, what can be said is that plastic packaging has a detrimental impact on the aquatic animals and it takes hunderds of years to decay.

However, many people and I are convinced that the government plays a vital role in preserving the environment because much damage has been done to it owing to irresponsible human activities. In other words, if the authorities allocate some funds to recycle the plastic trash or conduct raising – awareness compaigns to warn people against the disavantages of the overusing of plastic bags, this will help mitigate the issue and help motivate people to purchase their neccessities in bulk instead of buying individual items. For instance, Germany has the highest rate of recycling globally where more half of its waste is reprocessd. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the governmental officials to prevent the ecosystem and entice individuals to respect it.

In conclusion, after this essay has demonstrated the points mentioned above, it can be said that although this phenomenon has a destructive effect on natural habitats, it is the duty of the authorities to alleviate this dilemma. Consequently, I am convinced that the use of plastic materials should be prohibited.