Playing team sports is good for children to prepare for working life or not. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally accepted that team sports are beneficial to youngsters’ mental and physical development, while many parents argue that it may negatively influence the careers of their children by devoting an excessive amount of time. I believe it will bring more benefits for their career than drawbacks if the frequency is controlled in moderation.

People who support the idea that teamwork can be instrumental in youth’s future professions believe team sports offer children more opportunities to familiarize themselves with peers of different ages, genders, personalities, or regions. Players must communicate and collaborate with various teammates to achieve a collective goal in team sports, strengthening their interpersonal and cooperative skills. Those generic social skills form the basis for quickly acclimating to future workplaces, building networks with different colleagues, and achieving career success.

By contrast, parents who disagree with the above advantages have a different perspective. Spending excessive time on those physical activities will compromise their children’s study time, which affects their pursuit of academic achievement. For instance, if students spend too much energy on physical activities, they will feel exhausted and unable to focus on their studies. Furthermore, their children find it challenging to apply for prestigious universities and even rewarding jobs, detrimental to their future careers.

Extracurricular activities can refresh students from stressful studies, empowering them with the energy to learn. Regulating the frequency and content of sports can avoid the side effects of excessive sports. Students can benefit from positive outcomes for their job prospects by ensuring adequate study time and balanced training schedules for team sports.