Pollution and environmental damage are inevitable as a country becomes richer and more developed. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that pollution and environmental damage are unavoidable consequences of a country’s economic growth and development. This essay strongly agrees with this notion

On the one hand, some countries managed to remain sustainable without harming eco-system. This is mainly because their technologies have developed to a certain level and these nations have applied renewable energy into their daily life. For example, Finland, ranked among the wealthiest nations, with a low percentage of pollution. This success stems from high public awareness of environmental protection and the government’s proactive policies, such as strict emission controls and investments in renewable energy. However, such examples are exceptions rather than the norm. In developing countries, there are a great number of challenges before prioritizing environmental health. For instance, these developing countries may have to face financial difficulties, which is one of the toughest problems they encounter or solving illiteracy rate for people in remote areas. Therefore, while countries like Finland can balance their economy and environment. This is not representative of the global trend

On the other hand, most nations, regardless of their level of development, struggle to grow economically without causing environmental damage. These nations are likely to face severe conditions. One clear example is India, where the nature is often harsh and this leads to a demand in foods and drinks. Hence, people in these regions may need to improve their economy by clearing forests to create farmland or engaging in illegal activities such as poaching wild animals for sale. Even innovations considered eco-friendly, such as electric vehicles might also require intensive resource extraction to produce batteries, causing significant environmental strain. If there are no suitable solutions for this problems, economic activities will remain an inevitable byproduct of growth

In conclusion, Ii strongly agree that economic development is linked to pollution and environmental degradation. While a minority of nations have managed to mitigate these effects, the vast majority of human activities, from agriculture to industry, pose unavoidable risks to the environment.