Prison is an effective punishment for people who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the imprisonment is the most effective method in bringing about reductions in crime and changes in harmful behaviour. This essay agrees that potential offenders are deterred by the existence of this type of punishment. This is primarily attributed to two factors: the awareness of the inhospitable conditions associated with imprisonment, and the availability of rehabilitation programs designed to foster positive behavioral change.

Prison sentences are strong indicators of consequences after committing a crime. Incarnation is losing freedom, networks, striping away one’s identity and therefore a cost which will be avoided. If the punishment is associated with the behaviour, avoidance of pain is accomplished by avoidance of making offence. Hence, the probability of severe sentences for offenders reduces the incidence of crimes committed. For instance, in US there was a significant ten year decline in the crime rate from the period 1990-2000. This correlated with a substantially higher rate of imprisonment per population.

Courses that are provided in prisons to the inmates change their thinking from criminal side to a law-abiding citizen. Rehabilitation programs are really effective as they focus on targeting specific problem areas. Prisons offer very special courses, varying from education and treatment programs to anger management courses to rehabilitate them. Incarnation in Norway is a prime example, where ex-convicts are helped to integrate back into society, with access to social-support services and active labor market programs.

In conclusion, imprisonment is a highly effective way to fight criminal because of the understanding of consequences and rehabilitation programs.