Prison is an effective punishment for people who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Those committed crimes should be punished by prisoning. I totally disagree with this idea because it may not discourage prisoners as other punishments not to commit crimes again.

Through punishing criminals by prisoning them, will not be an effective way to deplete the level of the crime. In prisons criminals are kept in certain amount of time and there is nothing to do except for living for free in this period. Due to these opportunities, prisoners may not be discouraged to commit crimes again after few years in prison. Unless they endure difficult period after doing something illegal, they might execute criminal activities constantly. Taking the Switzerland int account, as this country have punished its criminals only by prisoning them, the volume of violence dramatically increased, proving that this method cannot decelerate rate of the crime.

Provided that governments offer death penalties, people are likely to stop themselves executing criminal activities. In this punishment those committed serious actions are explicitly killed based on the formal clause. When one criminal is killed by publicly owing to its action, individuals may afraid of being killed and discouraged from thinking about criminal actions. In North Korea, for instance, authority come with the idea of capital punishment against criminals, and due to this amend the level of crimes sharply dipped, illustrating that capital punishment is more effective method to discourage people from committing criminal actions.

In conclusion, as prisoning is not sufficient to discourage people from criminal activities, this method is not effective to arrest the crime level and there are other devices to deal with this issue.