Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

People have different views about whether prison is the best punishment for lawbreakers. Although some people argue that prison is not an optimum solution, I strongly believe this is the best idea to treat some criminals because of its safety and message.

Prison is bad for punishing offenders. Prisoners are served too shortly and softly which is not a good way to rehabilitate them. As a result, after release from prison, prisoners are more likely to re-offend or even deliberately do some activities against the law because they think that prison is a place where they feel they belong to their homes. So prison is not a good way to make criminals become better people.

On the other hand, I believe that prison is good for offenders. Firstly, when people who harm others physically and mentally are punished by prison, victims can be safe from further harm. It can ensure that their society can be more secure and peaceful. Secondly, locking up inmates in prisons can send out a strong message to would-be criminals. As a result. it can raise awareness among people about committing a crime so the reoffending rates may decrease.

In conclusion, despite the disapproval of many people about prisons, I would like to reiterate that prisons are the best punishment for wrongdoers. I hope that in the future, the rates of criminals would decline and the society may be secure for all people.