prison is the most effective punishment for people who break the laws. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There is a trend for the vast majority of people to hold an opinion that prison is the most substantial punishment for people who commit crimes. I partially agree with this opinion, while I admit that prison has a major impact on punishment, using electronic watches with monitoring is also suggested as an effective way.

On the one hand, prison is the most effective punishment for people who commit crimes. Indeed, the only way to stop people who commit crimes is to imprison them. During the period of prison, they will reason about their act, consequences that they achieved in the way of bad things. For instance, a lot of people who were imprisoned because of their crimes, were released as other people. Thus, prison has an effective impact for people who commit crimes.

On the other hand, prison alone is not sufficient, since electronic watches with monitoring are also considered as an effective punishment for people who commit crimes. These mandatory watches will monitor every action of people related to crimes and respond to police workers in case they commit crimes repeatedly, by giving them chance to correct their behaviour. For example, if a person with mandatory watch, who robbed jewelry shop previously, will repeat his crime, he will be stopped by police workers, who know the thief’s plan by monitoring him with a watch. Therefore, electronic watches also can be considered as effective punishment.

To conclude from aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that even though prison is considered as most effective punishment for people who commit crimes, electronic monitoring watches also can be valued as prison, but with a chance for people to think about their actions and correct their behavior.