“Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals from society.” To what extent do you support this view?

There is no doubt that we need to find effective ways of punishment to reduce the rates of crime in society. I personally feel that prison is not necessary for all criminals and it should be used in cases where it is warranted

Firstly, I believe there is a wide range of punishments that could be used for minor crimes to prevent criminals from committing them. Additionally, we could use a range of measures to bring all criminals under police attention and control them. For instance, electronic shackles and online GPS. Furthermore, arresting and sending large numbers of people to jail will increase government costs and would affect society in negative ways. In addition, we can hold rehabilitation classes for specific criminals and allow them live with their families with some limitations.Besides this, we should legislate rules for financial fines and this will lead to a decrease in the rate of related crimes and prevent them from their routine and this will help the government’s financial situation.

Of course, it is true that we should have prison and punishment for major crimes and we should isolate them from our citizens. However, I believe this should be for a minority of instances.

In conclusion, I believe prison should be the last resort for major crimes and we have to use other forms of punishment to control crimes.