Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing online?

Nowadays, technologies are continously gaining more space inn our society. For instance, libraries that now are open to everyone will soon be transferred online, where the digital copy of every book will be stored and accessible from a computer. This essay will discuss the most important strengh and weakness of such an innovation.The main advantage is that there will not be any building to manage. This is a huge cut of expences for cities, especially for little towns were every penny can be invested in others public goods, such as roads and hospitals. Moreover, the research for a book online is much quicker and it can be made from all around the world, the only requirement is an internet connection.

On the other hand, there are some major downsides that can not be ignored. One of them is the loss of jobs, in fact in a big library can work at the same time dozens of people and laying off all these workers could be very dangerous for the society, since there are thousands of libraries in the whole world.Furthermore, many people can not afford a suitable device to navigate the internet. The transfer online of a library online could deny the right to read to the poor.

To conclude, online public libraries are a brilliant idea, but this can lead to the exclusion of many people that used to go to the public library because they could not buy a book and now they are asked to buy expensive technological devices.