Question: Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them to exercise?

Elderly people are advised by doctors to do activities on a daily basis, but most patients are reluctant to exercise. This trend can be explained by loneliness and personal choice, but various steps can be taken to engage them to train.

One of the reasons why older people are unwilling to follow doctor’s recommendations is a feeling of loneliness. They may feel alone due to early retirement, making them free of obligations. Their relatives will not have sufficient time to take care of them, so they will feel stressed or anxious. Furthermore, thanks to retirement, they will prioritize their hobbies, making exercises seem insignificant. For example, reading books, watching television will overshadow the necessity of an exercise routine. Finally, tips of doctors can be disregarded by the gray population because of leisure time and preferences. .

There are two main measures that can be implemented to address this issue. First, the need of exercises can be promoted through television shows and social media. This is because, nowadays, people are addicted to digital era, so there are can be some tv shows that emphasize training and follow a diet. Another solution is organising different outdoor events where many older people can do yoga or similar activities. Doing activities along with other people make it easier and more engaging. Also, by gathering with peers to maintain a healthy lifestyle, they will become more sociable. Last but not least, the solution lies in encouraging them through television or outdoor events.

In conclusion, although doing exercises may seem boring and many older people ignore doctor’s recommendations, they can be sparked owing to propaganda or open-air events.