*Question from the image:* _Many people like to wear fashionable clothes._ 1. *Why do you think this is the case?* 2. *Is this a good thing or a bad thing?* _Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words._

Numerous individuals prefer to wear trendy clothes. I believe that people do this to maintain a social status and follow westernization. This is a negative trend because it leads to economic burden and waste generation.

As far as causes are concerned, people generally wear fashionable clothes to maintain a standard in their society. To describe, our clothes represent our personality type and financial status. So, when individuals possess expensive clothes, their social status increases.For example, Nita Ambani always wears unique and elegant attires to maintain a persona of a rich business women. Moreover, youngsters are highly influenced by social media trends and western clothing. This is because their favourite celebrities have branded clothes and they try to follow them. For instance, college going girls in canada try to follow the fashion statements of Kylie Jenner.

I think that it is a negative development because it creates unnecessary financial pressure on people to afford luxurious clothes that are out of their budget. To exemplify, in India, many people are in debt because they have spent a huge sum of money on purchasing elegant attires. Furthermore, the more the cloth production, the more the waste generation. To describe, fashionable clothes are not always comfortable, leading to redundancy.For exemplification, in Delhi, there are huge piles of redundant clothes on roads, creating foul smell and other issues.

To conclude, these days, a large number of individuals likes to wear trendy clothing items because they feel the desire to have a standard in their community and to follow western clothing trends. In my opinion, this is a bad thing as it results in financial burden and waste production.