Recently research has shown that business meetings and trainings are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It has been commonplace in various parts of the world that business-related meetings and courses are taking place on the internet. While there are various merits of this trend, there are also some demerits that need to be considered.

On the one hand, there are several benefits of conducting meetings and training online. One of the main arguments in its favor is that virtual communications are time-efficient. People can join in from any parts of the globe through the internet networks as it may reduce time spent on commuting. Another key advantage of this phenomenon is its cost-effectiveness as participants can save their budget from parking, accommodation, transport-fares as well as many other things. They will not only be able to spend this finance on their family expenses, but also can contribute to enhance the company’s technological systems. On top of that, this kind of meetings and training can be useful for people who have illnesses, particularly for disabled ones.

None the less, there are some drawbacks associated with virtual meetings and online courses. Firstly, being on the internet for a long time without breaks may cause some illnesses. For example, this might be one of the key reasons of worsened eyesight. Secondly, technical problems, such as poor internet connections could be another disadvantage which leads to the lack of comprehension with each other. Finally, participants may not pay their full attention to the sessions and this can lead to weak planning that can attribute to the decline in company’s productivity.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that online congregations have numerous strong points in terms of cost-effectiveness, time-efficiency, weak points of this proposal should not be underestimated as they have a significant impact on productivity, one’s health, and choosing online or face-to-face ones would belong to participants’ circumstances.