Recently research has shown that business meetings and trainings are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is an irrefutable fact that in the realm of cutting-edge technology, online gatherings have become more prevalent. Nowadays, majority of organizations arrange web conferences to conduct their meetings and training sessions. This essay will discuss both benefits and potential drawbacks before drawing a plausible conclusion.

To commence, online meetings are beneficial for both organisations and employees owing to the convenience and limited utilisation of resources. To elaborate it, individuals can participate in digital meetings irrespective of their location, and they do not need to commute to their workplaces, thus providing them convenience. Moreover, corporations do not need to spend much on resources provided that they are arranging online meetings for employees. For example, online conferences minimise companies’ expenses which are required for building and maintaining meeting halls. Thus, the above-mentioned example vividly illustrates the merits of online meetings.

Nonetheless, there are some disadvantages accompanied with holding meetings online. With excessive online interactions, employees may become less productive and start losing interest in their work. Moreover, online gatherings may get disrupted by poor internet connection and software glitches consequently lessen the effectiveness of conferences. Furthermore, individuals may lack social skills such as teamwork, cooperation and communication skills in absence of working environment. To epitome, when individuals participate in meetings from home, they may get distracted by household tasks, thus reducing professionalism. Hence, the aforementioned reasons substantiate the drawbacks of web conferencing.

To recapitulate, the essay discusses both the merits and demerits of conducting meetings via digital platforms. It is evident that the online platforms not only provide convenience but also are cost-effective. However, its downside comprising lack of efficiency among employees and outside distractions such as internet connectivity cannot be ignored and has to be well addressed and balanced against its merits.