Recently research has shown that business meetings and trainings are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many corporations today choose to hold meetings and do training online, rather than in person. While this has certain drawbacks related to interpersonal relationships and internet connection, I feel this is a positive trend because of convenience for employees with families.

To begin with, conducting business training online has a potential negative effect on social dynamics within a company. The preference for online communications is likely to suffer from loss of human elements and building strong interpersonal bonds. Another essential drawback is possible problems with internet connection. Having bad connections among employers and employees, both of them are likely to miss substantial information or even be thrown out of the call. According to the Oxford’ University ‘s recent observation, after the quarantine period, when all of the companies started their online working, their reproductivity had plummeted by 38.5%. Therefore, such drawbacks should be taken into account when transporting offline training to online.

Companies that choose to do more training and have more meetings online are making employees’ life with families more convenient. In other words, if both parents work offline, then one of them might have to give up their job to stay home to care about their child or children. So, the more companies start working online, the more free time is upped for families which are not able to physically come to the office. To exemplify , 58% of employees would prefer working at home , rather than going back and forth to the office because it would ease their life in terms of child care. Additionally, companies will still have to organise business meetings or training , however, at least they will not waste a parent’s valuable time.

In conclusion, although the move toward increased online training and meeting may sacrifice some of the social aspects of work or have an unreliable connection, this is more comfortable to work for families with children.