Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although online conferences are limited and have restrictions unless you buy a subscription, they allow people from all over the world to participate in meetings, discussion or webinars in comfortable and convenient way. This essay will demonstrate drawback of such group communication method but also will show how useful it is. Whilst acknowledging that there are disadvantages, the essay will argue that strengths of online conferences outweigh the drawbacks.

During the Covid, entire world experienced new way of working and communication, all schools, companies and organizations started using internet to share information. As the student who has studied for one year in this format, I noticed some drawbacks of it, such as limited abilities unless you pay money. Since meeting platforms need money for maintenance, they limited some options to have a profit. For that reason, conference time was only 40 minutes, maximum group size was fixed, and the quality of video and audio sharing was not appealing. Therefore, people must buy subscriptions for possessing options that offline meetings have.

On the other hand, such web applications are very useful in some cases and are often used these days. One of the main benefits of it is that the abilities of getting information, having jobs and communicating extended. For instance, people from developing or poor countries can have a job and visit work meetings from their homes without any big restrictions. As another example, students can visit lectures and webinars of school from different countries to learn something new. Thus, online conferences give new opportunities for people and allow them to become better.

To conclude, although restrictions may prevent some people from having some options that offline meetings offer, if you buy a subscription, you can get many opportunities. Hence, the advantages of online conferences outweigh the disadvantages.