Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, when the world has developed day by day, companies’ activities have become modernised. People work through the Internet; some activities like meetings, discussions, and training are done online. From my perspective, the demerits of working online are overshadowed by its advantages.

When it comes to the benefits of digital working, I suppose that there are two main benefits. Firstly, compared with traditional methods, working remotely is more convenient. With only a smart device, people can gather anytime, anywhere. Secondly, people can easily achieve a balanced lifestyle between family and career. Working online helps people to reduce time pressure and be more active in looking after their families. It also reduces the stress on staff.

In contrast, digital doing also causes some drawbacks. Initially, compared with the direct way, working remotely may not have better efficiency. This is because of the loss of the workplace environment. People are easy to have distractions when working. For example, notifications from applications, the home environment, and so on. Furthermore, doing digitally can cause a lack of unity. When people work online, conversations and exchanges between employees or empathy and encouragement from managers do not happen often, leading to increased stress for everyone.

In summary, the advantages of digital working outweigh its disadvantages. Working online helps staff to work more conveniently. Additionally, it also helps people to have a more balanced lifestyle. Whereas, digital doing can reduce task efficiency and lead to a lack of unity. As for me, these shortcomings can be overcome if people arrange their time and work reasonably. Consequently, I believe that this method will be more popular in the future.