Rich countries should not employ skilled labour from poor countries, as poor countries need the workers more. Do you agree or disagree?

Rich countries depend heavily on cheap imported labour to increase their profit margin. This demand for outsourcing increased further during recession faced by USA. Although poor countries may need their skilled workers to help them develop as a nation, it is felt that overall greater benefit is seen when rich countries employ their skilled workers.

Firstly, when developed countries outsource work, requiring skilled labour from developing countries, a demand is created in those poor countries, which leads to the development of higher education in those poorer nations. For example, when many IT professionals were hired by the United States in the late 20th Century, there was a big growth in the Indian tech-related education sector. So, if developing countries make their skilled labour available for hire to the world, they also develop their internal infrastructure such as good educational institutes. Thus, developing countries are also benefited when openness to foreign employment is embraced.

In addition to this, the economies of developing countries grow in many different ways when their people get work in developed countries. For example, the English-speaking youth in India handle telephone support for many different American products. These employment options encourage more and more Indians to study English, which in turn creates all sorts of new opportunities for business relationships between the two countries. Thus, the idea that poor countries should close their doors to foreign interest in their skilled labour is not supported.

Furthermore, workers from poor countries earn more from rich countries than they would from employment within their country. Most of them invest that money in their own country and this improves the overall economy of the poor countries. These workers also learn better methods of work and impart their cost-effective ideas to the rich nations, which proves to be a win-win situation for both, the developing and developed nations.

Summing up, rich countries should employ skilled labour from poor countries, as in most cases these developing countries are bettered by making their skilled labour available to developed countries