Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Given the development of the internet and the plethora of information available on it, some people believe that there is no point in retaining physical schools. In this essay, however, I will challenge this belief by demonstrating the important role of schools in children’s comprehensive development.

Opponents of keeping schools cite the fact that the Internet provides children with various resources for learning, which can allow them to self-study at home. Nevertheless, they often fail to mention that children can be so overwhelmed by the sheer volume of content available online that they might not know where to start and what to do next. That being the case, their learning experience would be extremely frustrating. This is why we still need traditional schools, where a structured learning environment and certified teachers are offered to ensure that students can stay on track with their studies and avoid wasting time and effort.

Moreover, schools are not just a vehicle for transferring academic knowledge, but also a mini-society in which children can develop socially. Through daily interactions with peers and teachers at school, children can learn how to react, behave and communicate in different social settings. Therefore, if schools disappeared, these opportunities would be limited, and this would likely take a toll on children’s social performance. This effect can be seen in the COVID-19 lockdown period, when children had to study remotely, and after returning to school, many students reportedly experienced difficulties communicating and interacting in a face-to-face setting. This is a testament to the importance of schools in developing children’s social skills.

In conclusion, I strongly oppose the belief that the Internet will marginalize the role of schools, considering the significant contributions that schools make to children’s overall development.