Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that there is no point in retaining physical schools, as children can access a wealth of information on the internet. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue schools will remain indispensable.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that schools will become redundant. The key reason is that the internet provides children with numerous resources for learning, which can allow them to self-study at home. For example, simply with a click of a mouse, children can access a plethora of language-learning tutorials on YouTube, so it is possible for them to pick up a new language without having to attend school. The same logic applies to other subjects like maths, literature, and science. For these reasons, the belief that the internet will replace schools seems perfectly justifiable.

However, I am convinced that schools still have an important role to play. First, it should be noted that children can be so overwhelmed with the sheer volume of information available on the internet that they may not know where to start and what to do next. That being the case, their learning experience will be very frustrating. This is why we still need schools, where a structured learning environment, coupled with guidance and support from teachers, helps children stay on track with their studies and avoid wasting time and effort. Additionally, schools aid children in developing social skills through daily interactions with peers and teachers. This is clearly an area where the internet cannot replicate schools.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for believing that the internet will marginalize the role of traditional schools, I would contend that the latter is still wholly warranted, given its crucial role in facilitating children’s overall development.