Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Schools came into existence more than a millennium ago. However, there is now thought that they no longer hold their strong value in the modern world, where it is easier to access information through the global web. While I acknowledge that this suggestion can be valid to some extent, I strongly feel that such educational institutions are important, for they provide structured academic curriculum and play an active role as a social hub.

Proponents of school education believe that they can offer learners systematic learning journeys. As many students lack discipline, consistency, and motivation, the academic environment facilitated by schools can trigger a higher level of productivity. This can be achieved with the inclusion of regular assignments assessed by educators, which can help students learn to meet deadlines. Competitive academic atmosphere at schools can boost student engagement in the classroom, preparing them for the later competition in the job market.

Opponents of such educational systems claim that schools fail to meet modern standards given the advancements of the internet. Students can now nurture various skills through information available on different platforms, which can be a perfect substitute for schools. Khan Academy can be a great example of this. Without the need to leave the comfort of their homes, learners can acquire knowledge in different disciplines, such as science, languages, and humanitarian subjects, through the visual and auditory content recorded by professional academics.

Despite the aforementioned notions, I would still argue that schools are of a profound significance because of their roles as small social hubs. Although skills and expertise can now be developed through the world web, students can feel highly connected to the community at large by attending classes regularly. Such social skills as teamwork, communication and peer support cannot be acquired online, so students need to interact in daily discussions, debates, and overall classroom environment in order to be flexible later on in their careers.

In conclusion, although the internet has no boundary in the provision of knowledge to students, rendering school education obsolete, I firmly confirm that schools play a crucial role in shaping disciplined individuals. Considering the social role of schools, it is evident that these places remain the most valuable place in developing well-rounded individuals, therefore, the argument for the full abolishment of schools is rather impractical.