Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, knowing a foreign language has become so crucial that it provides manifold opportunities for people, such as more job opportunities in almost every field. Schools are believed not to force children to master a foreign tongue. While it is true that learning a new language opens up many employment opportunities, their lack of interest might affect them negatively, causing an even worse academic performance at school.

On the one hand, compelling kids to learn a foreign language might be mighly beneficial, particularly in terms of landing empoyment. Nowadays, it is superior to know more than one language since effective interaction with foreign people is vital. To illustrate, in job interviews, it is crucial to know the same language as the interviewer, unless the candidates want to fail to be emplayed in high-salary jobs. Furthermore, earlier exposure to another language is likely to bе more advantageous for children than mastering it in their adult life. Indeed, children is more capable of learning quickly and their flexibility accelerate their ability in absorbing unfamiliar language. For example, there are many gifted children whose learning pace is faster than that of adults by several times. So, starting them to force them cam be significantly useful tful for their later lite.

Conversely, sometimes it is true that compelling them is not an appropriate approach for them due to lack of motivation they acquire. For them, learning a foreign tongue might be boring, and forcing them can exacerbate this situation. For instance, if someone gets too much pressure in mastering an unfamiliar language, they might discourage them, so that they do not put in much effort. Nevertheless, concentrating on other subjects, such as math, biology, and chemistry, is much more suitable for their future lives. The more they focus on more relevant subjects, the more they are likely to show a great academic performance. As a result, they stand a better chance of doing better in their future jobs.

To sum up, although forcing children to learn a foreign language may prove to be beneficial for their future professions and early learning may be faster, lack of motivation can hinder them from putting in a great deal of effort. Thus, considering all these factors, I partially agree with this statement.